No gui after KDE Neon Upgrade

I’ve been using KDE Neon for a few years now, it has the occasional glitch after a big upgrade but this one’s the worst yet.
I’ve just upgraded both my installations to the latest KDE Neon. After the upgrade, the gui did not work, I got the login screen, entered my credentials, the screen went black and then it reverted to the login screen. I had to go to the console using ctrl-alt-fn-f3, managed to log in. It seems to be a driver related problem which I fixed by purging the Nvidia drivers and reinstalling on one system but the other is not fixed. I’ve been trying to get it working for about 3 days now.
My latest try was to purge the nvidia packages using dpkg and install again but that didn’t work.
My gpu is NVIDIA Corporation GK208B [GeForce GT 710] (rev a1) (Asus GT710-SL-2GD5-BRK
here are the purge commands:

sudo ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-470.239.06.run --uninstall
sudo dpkg --purge nvidia-dkms-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-cfg1-470
sudo dpkg --purge xserver-xorg-video-nvidia-470
sudo dpkg --purge nvideo-driver-470
sudo dpkg --purge nvidia-settings
sudo dpkg --purge nvidia-kernel-source-470
sudo dpkg --purge nvidia-kernel-common-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-ifr1-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-gl-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-common-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-encode-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-decode-470
sudo dpkg --purge nvidia-utils-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-compute-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-egl-wayland1
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-extra-470
sudo dpkg --purge libnvidia-fbc1-470
sudo dpkg --purge nvidia-compute-utils-470
sudo dpkg --purge nvidia-prime
dpkg -l |grep nvidia
sudo dpkg --purge screen-resolution-extra
sudo reboot now
sudo apt update
sudo pkcon refresh
sudo pkcon update
sudo pkcon install nvidia-driver-470
sudo modprobe nvidia

I have tried to follow the Ubuntu guidance (click here) but that hasn’t worked. Can anyone help?